How to Put God first.

This morning I am preaching about the Second commandment Exodus 20:4-5, Do not make idols of any kind, whether in the shape of birds or animals or fish. 5. You must never worship or bow down to them, for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God who will not share your affection with any other god! This commandment is about how we should worship God. The first commandment was about who we should worship.

The obvious title for the sermon is American Idols. We all have our idols. We all have ways in which we construct our own image of God. The whole issue is we like to have gods that do things our way. Lucifer didn’t like the way God ran the universe so he decided to make himself god. He’s been working on that idea for some time now.

How do we put God first? I’ve put together an acrostic. F.I.R.S.T. “F” stands for Focus. I have found that as I have focussed on the character of God in the preparation of my last two sermons I have been inspired to put more confidence simply because of who he has revealed Himself to be . Spend serious time reading Bible verses that talk about who He is and you will be filled with a sense of wonder and trust.

“I” stands for Identify. I identify what purpose God has for you. What spiritual gift(s) has God given you that you are to use to serve in His spiritual kingdom right here and now. Whatever your occupation or career is God’s purpose for you will give you the most satisfaction.

“R” stands for respect. We should respect God’s timetable. He is ultimately in control and He has a plan. As we pray and as we live we are to be mindful that our plans will always superseded by His plans.

“S” stands for serve others. Serving other people in some capacity is an excellent way of taking our attention off ourselves and placing it on others. Jesus came to the earth to serve and not to be served. In serving others we are living the life he would live.

“T” stands for telling others. When we tell others about what happens when we put God first it encourages others to do the same. As we talk our own belief is affirmed in what God is doing in our lives.

22 Comments

Filed under A Pastors Life, Church stuff, Just thinking, Pastor stuff, Really Usefull, what's going on?

22 responses to “How to Put God first.

  1. Thanks For That Post!… It Was Great

  2. Hillary

    Hey… I just wanted to let you know that this is awesome. It summed up everything I was looking for right now. Thanks for posting it and sharing God’s love. :)

  3. Mantshadi

    Hi,

    This is a powerful reliasation that only came to me today, if I put God FIRST there is an immediate peace that fills my heart. I worry less and joy fills my heart. Thanks for the great post

  4. Denise

    This is a very good post. Doing what God wants in a simple way. F.I.R.S.T. Thanx. God Bless You.

  5. S. Lee Holmes

    Thank you so much for this very useful way of presenting an always timely topic.

  6. valerie

    God is AMAZING!!!!!! thank you so much, for posting this..i am seeker, and im looking to speak and understand his word..God has plan for me, and im excited!!!!!

  7. Akerele Abibat

    I realy luv dat, bcos it bfits d topic i want to preach about.

  8. AENA OSEI-ADJEI

    PLEASHELP ME IN PRAYER TO KNOW GOD MORE ,AND ALLSO HELP ME IN PRAYER TO MEET A GOOD HUSBAND.

  9. troy

    this will help me in my quest to establish a relationship with god i have been through my things in my life and have made numerous mistakes in my life and i am tired of feeling lost and alone.

  10. Aleeza

    :) I pray that all christians, including me, will learn to really put God first and to prioritize Him over anything and everything else :) Thanks for the post!

  11. Meredith L Johnson

    I am broken spiritually and lack faith in GOd. Everyone said to go out and get what you want and I have become
    afraid and self centered. I am not doing God’s work but the devil’s, Please pray for me to get out of my pettiness and past so I can serve the living God.Thanks for FIRST.

  12. ZEE

    I TRUELY DO LOVE GOD AND HIS SON. MY FAITH IS WEAK AND I DONT HAVE A STRONG RELATIOSHIP WITH HIM. EVERY TIME I TRY TO BUILD I FALL OFF TRACK. IT’S JUST HARD IM PRAYING FOR HELP AND SOME TIMES I FEEL LIKE I’M NOT DOING THAT RIGHT AND I TRUELY DO APPRECIATE THESE WORDS U HAVE SPOKEN :-)

  13. Praise God,we need to have a disciplined moments for God every day,Lets all respect ‘R’,our God is orderly

  14. livesmart

    Thanks to everyone who commented. Seems like a lot of people are seeking ways to make God a priority. With so many things that can consume our time and energy it seems like its harder to find him. He does promise that those who look for Him will find Him.

  15. Cnt

    Sometimes I feel like God isn’t forgiving me what should I do?

  16. Eva lemme

    Thank you so much for this,it has made it very clear how to put god first, it’s simple to the point! God bless all his seekers:-)

  17. Jermane

    I have always been told put God first but have struggled to grasp this concept until this post. I have had alot of resentment towards God because I asked for his help for the most important thing to me at that time. I look back and I realize he wasn’t part of that plan. Since then life goes on and I find myself starting life over but don’t like my optiions as I’m often disinterested in any profession or career. I can’t see myself satisfied with God has called me to do due to my disinterest of everything else. I often make comparisons between what I can’t have with whats available and they don’t measure up. obviously I need prayer as I keep feeling that at the end of my life I’ll always feel like I missed out.

  18. katherine

    Just as curious as everyone else, im a little lost and feeling very alone these days, and this is a good example of how to put God first

  19. Noreene Bostick

    Thanks for sharing how I can put God first! Smiles

  20. Hayongo Hamanjanji

    Its really not easy to just wake up some day and say i will put God first. One needs God’s power. FIRST has inspired me and has made my day.

  21. zaire

    i am trying to learn how to put god first at all times and this has helped me out a little bit, Thank you for your help.

  22. mary jones

    I thank God for giving you the gift to simplify things in such a beautiful way – God is always F-I-R-S-T in life and I feel that He’s F-I-R-S-T in yours.
    Thanks !

Leave a Reply

